Tags

, , , , , ,

Albert Einstein

“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving.” ― Albert Einstein

 
 
 
  
Walt Disney and several friends receive honora...

(Photo credit: Boston Public Library)

“Around here, however, we don’t look backwards for very long. We keep moving forward, opening up new doors and doing new things, because we’re curious…and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.” ― Walt Disney Company

The early-morning view from my window is misty, and the lake with its surrounding bluffs and trees always evokes stories of Vikings and the fjords of Norway. Later, when the sun is high and the fog has cleared, I’ll see the ocean beyond the lake, and the Marin headlands and possibly the Farallon Islands. I revel in my view, in large part because soon I won’t see it.

Indoors, I’m surrounded by boxes large and small. The carpet is pressed down where the furniture used to stand. I’m moving.

And yet I’m staying. Staying on the unicoast, going away, all the way back to my previous home in the Southland. The Disney quote above is heartening, because once again Mickey and I will be neighbors. I’ll shop in favorite stores and nosh in favorite eateries, stroll on Venice Beach and drive the canyon roads.

Wherever I go on the unicoast, it all remains home.

But oh, the packing! Hey, Walt, can you spare some dwarves, or maybe a sorcerer?