Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

John Ruskin

John Ruskin (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“There is no such thing as bad weather, only different kinds of good weather.” – John Ruskin

Only two weeks till Thanksgiving and scant weeks since I re-relocated down the unicoast to SoCal, and the evening news tells me it reached 92 degrees in the Ellay suburb near my office.

Well, I knew what I was getting into. And what I was leaving behind.

Not that the Bay Area doesn’t have its hot spots. For a time I chugged to the East Bay on a regular basis for meetings. Getting up early in the Essef chill, I had to dress in multiple layers and shed the coat and top layer as BART took me farther inland to Concord. One time sensory information overrode experience, and I bundled up good. Without a suitable light bottom layer, I wound up literally ill from the heat. In Ellay I would have shown more sense. That gorgeous sunshine can be dangerous.

Everyone’s heard the quip attributed to Mark Twain about his coldest winter being a summer in San Francisco. True for everyone. Especially last June, when we froze our toes off. And Los Angeles isn’t uniformly hot; the valleys north and east of the city are about 10 degrees hotter than L.A. proper, and the beach communities are about 10 degrees cooler.

And now, back to the evening news. They also predicted drizzle in the next couple of days. Lucky my San Francisco souvenirs include rain boots and a trench coat.

